Couchsurfing

At the moment, I have this wonderful girl from Chile sleeping on my couch and I thought it’s really time to post something about Couchsurfing. I’m very impressed about this whole service and it’s absolutely in accordance with my own philosophy. To be honest: I’m a little bit sad (or jealous) that it wasn’t my idea to establish it :-) And since there are still so many people who ask me: “What are you doing? What is Couchsurfing?” or “Isn’t that dangerous? Aren’t you afraid? You don’t know the people – how can you trust them?” I wanted to share some thoughts about it.

On the Couchsurfing website, you can read that CouchSurfing is an international non-profit network that connects travelers with locals in over 230 countries and territories around the world. And that CouchSurfing members share hospitality with one another. Hosts have the opportunity to meet people from all over the world without leaving home. “Surfers,” or travelers, are able to participate in the local life of the places they visit. We also give more people the chance to become travelers, because “surfing” lowers the financial cost of exploration.

What I really love about this: it works perfectly! At least from my experience and what others have told me. I met great people, learned about local life and culture, ate delicious food, got nice souvenirs, made other people happy, had extraordinary laughter sessions and deep talks, saved money, felt inspired and met new friends! It’s a win-win situation which leaves the money-driven system behind and establishes instead a value-orientated system in which the individual behavior and “real-life” relations between people gain the upper hand… I think the world needs more great projects like this one!

Leave a Reply

